penalties_image

Nevada’s primary DUI penalties are based on a minimum-maximum system and become more severe based on the nature of your DUI offense. For instance, the penalties for your first Nevada DUI offense are not as severe as the penalties you would face for a second or third DUI offense. Additionally, DUI penalties become more severe if your offense involves the death or substantial harm to another. Nevada also allows certain factors to enhance a DUI offense to an “aggravated” level, i.e., minor less than 15 years of age in vehicle with you, higher BAC levels, etc. Below are charts outlining the penalties you will face for a DUI conviction in Nevada.

DUI Penalties – First Offense Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence
Maximum Sentence
2 Days in Jail or 48 hours of community service 6 Months in Jail or 96 hours of community service
$400 Fine $1,000 Fine
Attend Victim Impact Panel Attend Victim Impact Panel
DUI School DUI School
$60 Chemical Analysis Fee $60 Chemical Analysis Fee
$35 DMV Civil Penalty $35 DMV Civil Penalty
Alcohol Treatment Program if BAC 0.18 or more Alcohol Treatment Program if BAC 0.18 or more
90 Day Driver’s License Revocation 90 Day Driver’s License Revocation
$125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee $125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee
Ignition Interlock Device for 3 Months (Court’s discretion if BAC is 0.17 or lower) Ignition Interlock Device for 6 Months (Court’s discretion if BAC is 0.17 or lower)

DUI Penalties – Second Offense Misdemeanor

The DUI is enhanced to a “second offense” if a prior DUI offense
was committed in the preceding 7 years.

Minimum Sentence
Maximum Sentence
10 Days in Jail or residential confinement for 10 days 6 Months in Jail or residential confinement for 6 months
$750 Fine $1,000 Fine
Attend Victim Impact Panel Attend Victim Impact Panel
DUI School DUI School
$60 Chemical Analysis Fee $60 Chemical Analysis Fee
$35 DMV Civil Penalty $35 DMV Civil Penalty
Alcohol Treatment Program Alcohol Treatment Program
1 Year Driver’s License Revocation 1 Year Driver’s License Revocation
$125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee $125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee
Ignition Interlock Device for 3 Months (Court’s discretion if BAC is 0.17 or lower) Ignition Interlock Device for 6 Months (Court’s discretion if BAC is 0.17 or lower)

DUI Penalties – Third Offense Category B Felony

The DUI is enhanced to a “third offense” if 2 prior DUI offenses
were committed in the preceding 7 years.

Minimum Sentence
Maximum Sentence
1 Year in prison 6 Years in Prison
$2,000 Fine $5,000 Fine
Attend Victim Impact Panel Attend Victim Impact Panel
$60 Chemical Analysis Fee $60 Chemical Analysis Fee
$35 DMV Civil Penalty $35 DMV Civil Penalty
3 Year Driver’s License Revocation 3 Year Driver’s License Revocation
$125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee $125 Driver’s License Reinstatement Fee
Ignition Interlock Device for 12 Months Ignition Interlock Device for 36 Months

Possible Additional Las Vegas DUI Penalties

In addition to the above penalties, you may be subject to additional penalties depending upon the jurisdiction that you were arrested and charged in.  For instance, you can be arrested and charged for DUI in the City of Las Vegas, the City of Henderson, the City of North Las Vegas or in unincorporated Clark County, Nevada.  Some jurisdictions impose additional DUI penalties that could be added to your DUI sentence.  For example, if you are charged and convicted of DUI in the City of Las Vegas (Las Vegas Municipal Court) you may be ordered to attend and participate in a DUI Coroner’s Program and the Las Vegas Municipal Court may also order you “to do or refrain from doing any other act the court deems reasonable, given the nature of the offense and the criminal history of the defendant.”  Conversely, if you are charged and convicted of DUI in the City of North Las Vegas (North Las Vegas Municipal Court) you may be ordered to attend and complete “Level II Traffic School.”